Posted by: gayleconnell | February 21, 2011

Part 1: Heading to Paradise..Kona, HI

I first spoke my dream outloud in November after returning from a week in Kona for Thanksgiving. I said it was my intention to move to Kona by February 15,2011, partly to live a dream of being in a tropical area and partly to expand my greeting card business in the tropical paradise.

On February 15, 2011, I boarded the plane and headed to Kona, filled with fear and excitement. Totally out of my comfort zone and alone…a mixture of plans in my head and written on papers. I had set my intentions and now it was falling into place. It is now up to me to keep myself motivated and encouraged. I remind myself that there is NO FAILURE if I don’t quit…

My flight to Kona was a non-stop from Phoenix, AZ on a smaller plane than the one I traveled on in November. I sat on a row with a vacant seat between me and Steve, a resident of Kona returning from a trip to the Carolina’s where he had visited his adult children. He filled me in on many things about the island that I didn’t know and invited me to contact him and visit his home. It is nice to feel as if I have a connection as we come in for our landing. I have a couple of others to catch up with that I had met at Thanksgiving, perhaps I will call or email them on Sunday.

We arrived about 3:30 and I took the shuttle to the car rental only to be asked if  I realized I was at the wrong location and would need a taxi to get me to the correct office for  my rental car…of course it was rush hour and there was no rushing the process, so I did what I always tell others to do..BREATHE. I had a nice conversation with the driver. Though he was not overly talkative, I decided to ask about the tatoos which covered his body.  I asked about them and he shared many stories about the different ones covering his neck, arms, and fingers. I learned so much about Julius and Hawaiian traditions that the time passed quickly. He will drive me back to the airport when I leave in April.

By the time I got my car it was too far from Costco and the shopping I had intended to do before going to the condo.  So, I just drove to the Kona Coast Resort where I will be staying the next two months. I grabbed my bags and “lugged” them to my condo, no easy task, but I found a sidewalk so I didn’t have to use any stairs.

Once the bags were in the condo, I cleaned up and decided to walk up the hill for a little dinner and some milk for in the morning…forgot the milk but had a nice dinner (hamburger with bacon and the most delicious fries!!!) before returning to the condo and flopping on the bed for the night. Welcome to Paradise!

Responses

  1. Hey Gayle,

    Best of luck on your adventure. Way to step out of your comfort zone!

    Here’s to your success,

    Jeff

    • Thank you so much, Jeff! This all comes from what I have learned and continue to learn through the MMI and our 2% club, many thanks to you!
      Gayle

  2. It takes courage to follow your dream. I totally understand about speaking into existence your intention and dream and claiming it as yours. You are in my prayers. May your path be blessed as you walk in faith believing opportunities will be revealed and manifested. Much Aloha to you my friend. Go forth and thrive.

    • Thank you so very much, my friend. I think of you often, especially when I am in HI! Aloha and Mahalo.

  3. Hi Gayle,

    You are so very brave to make this change in your life! You’re an inspiration and I can’t wait to hear more about your time there! With your open mind and heart, you will succeed. You are a Warrior!

    Have fun!

    Marilee

    • Thank you, Marilee! Putting on my Warrior Necklace each day as a reminder and my MMI band to keep me brave. It is exciting!
      Thanks again,
      Gayle


Leave a Reply

Categories

